top of page

The Luck of the Irish

For my final weekend of traveling, aside from when my parents come, I was off to beautiful Ireland. This was the trip I had been looking forward to the most, and I could not have asked for a better weekend.

We left bright and early Thursday morning. We thought there was a train leaving at 7am however there wasn’t therefore we just took the bus at 8am and grabbed some coffee while we waited. We flew out of Pisa at 10am and arrived in Ireland at noon. From there we took a taxi to the train station. We had the nicest Taxi drivers the whole entire trip. We grabbed some lunch before taking our train to Cork, Ireland. Our train left at 2pm and arrived about 4:30pm. From the train station we took another taxi to the Blarney Castle. Now this Taxi driver was very hard to understand. We finally made it to the Blarney Castle. We climbed it all the way to the top. The stairs were very narrow. Then we kissed the Blarney Stone. It will give us good luck! After climbing the castle, we took like to explore the park and gardens. There were beautiful flowers. Then we took a bus back to Cork, to grab some dinner before heading back on the Train. We ate BBQ it was kind of strange to be eating BBQ in Ireland. Then we headed back to Dublin. We finally arrived at our hostel at about 11:30pm. It was a long day of traveling.

The next morning, we got to sleep in until 8am, which was good for us. We had a walking tour which told us all about Ireland. We heard all about the history of Ireland and the silly things the Irish did with their money for example, the statue that was made in 2000, which they call the Stiffy in the Liffy. Anyways, we saw the Dublin Castle and Gardens, Christ Church, the places where PS I love you was filmed, Trinity College and much more. Our tour guide really loved to talk. It was so bad he said the same thing about three or four times. We ended at a very good lunch place. I had Irish stew. After, we were off to a tour of the Guinness Factory. Here is very we spent our afternoon. We taste tested and pour our own cup of Guinness. It was a very cool experience. We headed back for a little before heading to a small pub-crawl. We just went to two Irish pubs then called it a night.

The next morning we were up bright and early. We headed to the Cliffs of Moher. The cliffs were beautiful. It was a bit chilly, but worth the view. We walked the trail for a bit before grabbing some coffee. We got lucky and it didn’t rain. Then we headed to Galway. Galway was a little cute town; we got fish and chips, and did some shopping. Then we headed back to Dublin. Our final night we were to Whelans for some live music. This pub was the place where PS I Love You was filmed. It was very cute. The live music was awesome. The band was very cool. They played some great music. Finally we headed back for the night.

Sunday was a day of all travel. We just flew back to Florence.

I loved Ireland and it was one of my favorite places to visit. The green was so beautiful everywhere. I wish I could have stayed longer, but someday I will return.

Kissing the Blarney Stone

I'm back in Kent

Blarney

The Blarney Castle

Up in the Blarney Castle

Guinness factory

I pourned my own Guinness

The bar from the movie PS I Love You

Standing on the cliffs

The Cliffs of Moher

Letting the Guinness settle

The Dublin Castle

Trinity College

PS I love you steps

The Dublin Castle

Street Art

Irish Stew


bottom of page