top of page

THE Amazing Amalfi Coast

The Amalfi Coast weekend was by far one of my favorite weekends. It was spent with amazing people and we had great weather too.

Our trip started on a Thursday evening, we took the bus from Florence to Sorrento. We arrived in Sorrento at about quarter til two in the morning. Our hostel was a cute little place. It was like a little bungalow. It had two rooms, a bathroom, and a little kitchen area. There were five of us in the room. We all quickly settled in because we had a bright and early morning ahead of us.

After basically getting a nap, we were up and ready to go by 7:30AM we were taking a ferry to the island of Capri. It was a short ferry ride. We arrived in Capri at about 9AM. We had some free time to grab a quick bite to eat before heading out on the boat. The boat took us around the island of Capri. The island was beautiful. There was crystal clear water, beautiful cliffs, and the sun shining above us. We got to go through the tunnel of love, see a secret beach made for two, and even jump in the water. Yes I jumped in the water. Let me tell you it was FREEZING COLD! I was in and out of that water so fast. After we were all finished jumping in, we headed to the Blue Grotto. The Blue Grotto is beautiful. It is this cave with natural bright blue water in it. You have to lie down to get into the cave, and take these tiny boats to get in. However, it was one of the coolest sights I had ever seen. They asked if we wanted to jump in, I gladly passed. Not to mention there were jelly fish. We took the boat back to the port and enjoyed the rest of the day on the beach. I can’t tell you how good of a feeling it was just to lay on the beach. I took a two hour nap. Ah so relaxing.

After we took the ferry back to Sorrento, we relaxed and got ready for dinner. We did a three course meal group dinner. It was very yummy. The first course was pasta, the second veal and French fries, with tiramisu as the dessert. Plus we had unlimited wine and water. We all decided not to stay out late tonight because we were so exhausted. The good night’s rest was great.

The next morning we got up and had breakfast, since we missed it the previous day. We were off to Positano. Positano is the postcard picture of the stacked houses, the beautiful beach, and shops. We arrived around lunch time. We walked down the city, it was many many steps the walk up would not be fun. Before heading to the beach we grabbed a panino at a well-known sandwich shop. It was very good but not worth almost 8 euros. Anyways, we laid at the beach for an hour before heading on our boat ride. Our boat ride took us to a secret beach. We spent the day enjoying the beach and cliff jumping. Well I didn’t cliff jump. One the water was too cold and knowing me I would somehow manage to not land right. This actually happened to my friend Emily. She hit the water in a sitting position, and her legs paid the price. The whole backs of her thighs were bruised and all red. Good thing I just took pictures instead. After lying on the secret beach and collecting more sea glass we headed back to the main beach. We relaxed before heading to meet everyone to hike up the dreaded steps. I also managed to get handmade sandals they are pretty cool. The hike up the town was well dreadful; it shows how out of shape I am. Just think if you lived there and had to do it every day. If you forgot something from grocery shopping you were out of luck. Anyways we headed back to Sorrento.

We got ready and headed out for dinner. We had an amazing dinner. There were seven of us who went to this restaurant. It was amazing. We ordered smoked fish and fried Calamari for our appetizers. I ordered seafood risotto for my main course, and we ordered four desserts. They were all fantastic. My favorite was a sponge cake with strawberries and cream. Plus the red wine was great too. It was very sweet. I actually didn’t mind drinking it. After dinner we headed to this place called the English Inn to end our night.

On Sunday morning we headed to Vesuvius and Pompeii. We didn’t do much in Vesuvius. We could have hiked to the top, but many people said it was not worth it. Therefore, we didn’t want to hike. We enjoyed some coffee at a local café instead. It was a good morning, but I was excited for the afternoon.

When arriving at Pompeii, we did a three course lunch. We all had pizza, salad, fries, and a dessert. After lunch we headed into the ancient ruins. They were amazing! I can’t even explain to you how big they were. We were only in there for about two ish hours, and we did not even cover a good portion of the city. We took some awesome photos with the columns; saw the old houses, which still had the numbers on them, and an amp theater. This city was amazing, I could have spent all day walking around. The views of Vesuvius in the background were pretty amazing too.

Overall, I loved this trip. I would do it again in a heartbeat. The people were amazing, and the places too. I hope to someday get back Pompeii and explore the city that I love.

Pompeii Ruins

Positano

Capri. Is or isn't the person real!? I will let you be the judge of that.

Our whole group on the boat cruise in capri.

The tunnel of love in Capri.

Attempting to stay warm after jumping in.

The Blue Grotto.

The boat ride in Positano.

Jumping in the cold water, I got out so fast!

The tunnel of love!

A day at the beach!

Over looking Positano.

Pompeii.

Enjoying the ruins.

All of us at the ruins.

Our last night in Sorrento.


bottom of page